Sanford hooks New Zealand’s best governance award

New Zealand seafood company, Sanford was named as winner of the MinterEllisonRuddWatts Excellence in Governance Award at last night’s Deloitte Top 200 Awards gala dinner held at Spark Arena, Auckland.

The firm’s Chair, Lloyd Kavanagh says: “Our sponsorship of the award is part of our continuing commitment to strengthening corporate governance in New Zealand.”

Congratulating New Zealand’s largest listed fishing company on winning the award, Lloyd Kavanagh added: “Strong governance underpins business resilience, and with a history dating back more than 130 years Sanford has moved with the times, and weathered more than a few storms. Sanford’s vision is to be the best seafood company in the world, which represents a significant journey from its roots.

“The Sanford board has set the company’s strategic direction, and worked towards achieving its customer-centric and sustainable business vision. Its performance is a testament to the clear governance the board provides.

“The award reflects the high standards the individual directors set and how the whole board delivers against the business’ values. This coupled with customer satisfaction and staff engagement continues to drive solid commercial results.

“The Sanford board provides a great example for other businesses, not only producing excellent returns for shareholders, but also for New Zealand’s prosperity.”

MinterEllisonRuddWatts also congratulates the other Excellence in Governance Award finalists Ports of Auckland and Trade Me.

“The Top 200 celebrates the business community’s highest achievers, and their leadership in New Zealand’s business community,” says Lloyd Kavanagh.

“We are proud to sponsor the Excellence in Governance category. Strong governance is vital for business success and the ongoing growth of our country’s economy.”

Many clients and friends of the firm were also recognised last night including: Chairperson of the Year, Peter McBride from Zespri International, Chief Executive of the Year, Russel Creedy from Restaurant Brands New Zealand, Chief Financial Officer of the Year, Jon Raby from ASB, Most Improved Business Skellerup Holdings Ltd, Best Growth Strategy Fulton Hogan, Diversity and Inclusion Leadership SKYCITY Entertainment Group Ltd, and Young Executive of the Year winner, Caroline Rawlinson from Trade Me.

Media enquiries:

Janine Brennan-Lynch, Marketing Communications Manager

Phone +64 9 353 9828   Mobile +64 275 128 821


Related Articles